Nuggets of knowledge

A few years ago, I wrote a blog post entitled Knowledge in little packages in which I shared some of my favourite aphorisms and quotes.  I keep a collection of these little nuggets to inspire myself, to share with others via micro-blog posts in Twitter or LinkedIn and to underscore a key idea in a presentation or writing.  Sometimes I value such nuggets for triggering a thought that generates new knowledge; sometimes they just make me feel good – and if I’m feeling good, I’m probably more likely to have energy to be generative with knowledge.

Here’s a few more that have made it into my collection recently:

When you write things down, they sometimes take you places you hadn’t planned.
~ Melanie Benjamin

You’ll increase your creative potential once you begin to value your own thoughts.
~ Doug Hall

Perhaps we cannot raise the winds. But each of us can put up the sail, so that when the wind
comes we can catch it.
~ E. F. Schumacher

I get up every morning determined to both change the world and have one hell of a good time. Sometimes this makes planning my day difficult
~ E. B. White

When forced to work within a strict framework the imagination is taxed to its utmost – and will produce its richest ideas. Given total freedom the work is likely to sprawl.
~ T.S. Eliot

An engineer is one who can do with a dollar what any bungler can do with two.
~ Economic Theory of Railway Location (1887)

To be a designer is to be an agent of change.
~ Barbara Chandler Allen

Designers are the alchemists of the future.
~ Richard Koshalek

Clean out a corner of your mind and creativity will instantly fill it.
~ VISA founder Dee Hock

What quotes have been inspiring you or stimulating new knowledge lately?

Leave a Reply

